Home » Members » Austria



The Austrian AWEPA Section comprises more than 100 members, mostly current but also former Members of the Austrian Parliament. Hon. Petra Bayr heads the Section as Chair; her deputies are Hon. Franz-Joseph Huainigg and Hon. Tanja Windbüchler-Souschill.

The honorary Chairs of the Austrian AWEPA Section are Hon. Fritz Neugebauer, former II President of the National Council, and Hon. Eva Glawischnig, former III President of the National Council.

The Section is embedded into a larger project called the “NorthSouthDialogue of Parliaments”, which aims to strengthen political and societal support for development politics and international cooperation on national and bilateral levels.

More information about the North-South Dialogue of Parliaments can be found on the project website:

A digital periodical newsletter for the members of the Austrian AWEPA Section in Parliament has been circulated since March 2009. All back issues can be found here (only available in German)


Deputy Head of Section

Hon. Franz-Joseph Huainigg

Hon. Huainigg has been a Member of the Austrian National Parliament since 2010, and between 2002 and 2008, as a member of the Austrian People’s Party (ÖVP). Since November 2002, Hon. Huainnig has also been the official spokesperson for the Development Cooperation section of the ÖVP as well as for the interests of disabled persons in the Austrian Parliament.